top of page

News & Activities


Solar Energy Robotics Showcases Cutting-Edge Technology at Austmine 2023

Austmine Day - LinkedIn Video
Play Video

Solar Energy Robotics shared the spotlight with other mining technology entrepreneurs as part of the CORE Innovation Zone at Austmine 2023 Conference and Exhibition. With cutting-edge technology and a focus on automation, they demonstrated how their robotics can drive efficiency and sustainability of solar power.

Held in Adelaide Convention Centre,  this three-day event (from May 9 to May 11) brought together industry professionals, where the key theme "Transforming our Future" guided discussions on open innovation and forward-thinking strategies aimed at reshaping the mining industry to meet the expectations of a new generation.

Feature 2_edited_edited.jpg

In the photo (left to right): Ben Brayford, Brett Ellacott, Neil Freeman, and Matthew Forrest.


SER CEO Ben Brayford and BHP COO Edgar Basto had discussed having a strong partnership to revolutionize the renewable energy power supply at autonomous mine sites in the Pilbara region.

CORE Innovation Zone

Solar Energy Robotics were invited to the CORE Innovation Zone that provided showcase of Australia’s leading METS technologies. The Innovation Zone was a fresh concept for the event and added a buzz with a concentration of METS entrepreneurial innovation leaders in one booth.  Neil Freeman (Rio Tinto) spent his time in the Zone providing insight to Rio Tinto’s Pioneer Portal  that is a innovation pathway to deliver value to the business.

Meet the Miners

The event provides an opportunity for the METS companies to ‘Meet the Miners’ where Solar Energy Robotics had an opportunity to ask questions with innovation leaders Neil Freeman (Rio Tinto), Sundar Singh (Vimson Group) and Chris Schmid (Iluka Resources). This session was enjoyably social as well as informative.

Special thanks to Austmine, CORE Innovation Hub and the other Zone members:

Zane Prickett,  Renu Kannu, Renee Hakendorf, Simon Hareb,  Libby McMichael, Beau Rybajlak; Vlad Mantoiu, Shayne Doherty; Tim Angel, Brett Ellacott; Steve Rohan; Harish Csr ; Matthew Forrest; Shorty, Alex Bertram. 

bottom of page